Like Mrs Finan mentioned in her Post, I also did not see much use of ICT in the classroom on the first day and have been looking for alternative ideas for ICT integration. As my Mentor Teacher is approachable and helpful, I’m sure we will be able to discuss further options for upcoming lessons.  I have observed that most of the Year 1 students use their IPads in a responsible way but there are a group of students who misuse this time and disciplinary action is necessary.  I also agree that the Interactive Whiteboard is a wonderful tool.  Once set up correctly, the possibilities for student learning are endless! Apart from a few technical issues, I have been able to use this successfully in lessons so far. It is a challenge to suddenly have to use previously unknown technology competently, but I guess it is just a matter of getting to know it and using it on a regular basis.

http://mrsjpfinan.wordpress.com/2014/10/07/reflecting-on-the-first-day/

